One Last Time

You know it’s almost been a year?
A year ago I left my ring on your table.
I placed my hand over my ring one last time.
Not wanting to go.
This is what you wanted.
I slowly gathered my things,
Stood by the front door, and I took one last look.

Breathing in the smell of you
Hearing your voice one last time
Seeing the memories we had made for almost two years.
Not wanting to leave.

Tears began to stream down my face
As I took the door and closed it behind me
Sitting in my car and taking another look
Wishing this was a dream

Taking in the smells
Sounds
Sights
Everything one last time

For I knew this was it.
You were not coming back to me
Your mind was made up
And we were through

I took one last look before I made my turn
The tears began to fall harder
I love you always
I already miss you

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑