The Crow

The crow flies overs head
Caws escape the mouth
Looking for a place to land

Finds a naked tree
With no green
Little life left
Barely breathing

The crow swoops down
Lands with grace
Looking down
Sees me

Looking up
Staring and wondering
Thinking
What does this bird see

Sky turns red with anger
The brilliant blue dissipates
Air turns crisp almost cold

Not worthy
Too much
Little
Needy
Clingy

These words get louder
I squat down
Hands over my ears
Looking up
The crow laughing

Lots of baggage
Not good enough
No one wants you

I shake my head
As the sounds are louder
My press my ears harder
Trying to tune out
The crow is too loud

Looking up
Sky is still red
The tree losing its last breathe
I’m loosing my mind

Another shape
Another form
Head back down
Falling on me knees
Not moving
Protecting my head

This can’t last
Will it?

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑